McWhorter School of Building Science Hosts 2016 Annual Awards Banquet

McWhorter School of Building Science Hosts 2016 Annual Awards Banquet

Faculty and students were honored at the McWhorter School of Building Science 2016 Annual Awards Banquet at The Hotel at Auburn University and Dixon Conference Center on Wednesday, April 20, 2016.

A big “thank you” to our banquet sponsors who helped us create a special evening: Brasfield & Gorrie, Evergreen Construction, Fite Building Company Inc., Hoar Construction, Hoar Program Management, JE Dunn Construction, Martin & Cobey Construction, M.J. Harris Construction Services LLC, Robins & Morton, and Turner Construction.

Building Science faculty were recognized by Vini Nathan, Dean and McWhorter Endowed Chair in the College of Architecture, Design and Construction, with the following awards:

Ben Farrow: Outstanding Graduate Faculty

Paul Holley: Outstanding Teacher Award

Anoop Sattineni: Faculty Excellence Award

Junshan Liu: Faculty Excellence Teaching Award

Keith Rahn: Faculty Excellence Service Award

Peter Weiss: Faculty Excellence Teaching Award

Salman Azhar: Faculty Excellence Research Award

Paul Holley, Director of the Center of Construction Innovation and Collaboration and Wilborn Endowed Professor, along with corporate sponsors presented the following student scholarships:

Bailey-Harris Construction Company Endowed Presidential Scholarship: Nick Chaplow

Batson-Cook Annual Scholarship: John Sandoval

KBR Endowed Scholarship: Tyler Deal 

Benjamin H. Craig, Jr. Endowed Scholarship: Grant Dohrenwend 

Brasfield & Gorrie Annual Scholarship: Tommy Ellis

Brasfield & Gorrie, LLC, Endowed Scholarship: Nick Jarrett

Brock Family Endowed Scholarship: Matt Youngblood

Building Science Annual Scholarship: Chase Merrill, Logan Myrick, Matt Tucker, Madox Wise 

CADC/BSCI Minority Scholarship: Nico Palomino 

Clement Group Endowed Scholarship: McKelvy Douthit 

Comer Foundation Freshman: Walker Caretti

Comer Foundation Sophomore: Stewart Rand 

Comer Foundation Junior: Patrick Collins 

Comer Foundation Senior: Kennedy May 

Comer Foundation Senior: Mace Keenum

Gary Dent Endowed Scholarship: Foster Ballard 

Golden Construction Annual Scholarship: Blake Spiker 

Gray Construction Annual Scholarship: Dalton Simpson

Harbert International Annual Scholarship: Jack Bjork

Harbert International Annual Scholarship: Jasper Bowdoin 

Holder Construction Annual Scholarship: Blake Spiker 

Hoar Construction Endowed Scholarship: Max Hopkins 

Imogene Powell/NAWIC Annual Scholarship: Hannah Redifer 

Jack & Laura Fite Endowed Scholarship: Jordan Johnson 

James Matthew Mitchell Endowed Scholarship: Jacob Anusiewicz, Travis Eubanks, Nicohlas O’Connor, Christopher Zarr

Kay Family Endowed Scholarship: Will Givens 

Linbeck Construction Annual Scholarship: Jackson Fite 

Marshall J. Conner Endowed Scholarship: Julia Allen 

Martin & Cobey Endowed Scholarship: Hunter Whitten 

M.J. Harris Construction Services Annual Scholarship: Taylor Stubbs 

Montgomery CSI Endowed Scholarship: Thomas Yawn 

Richard & Barbara Price Endowed Scholarship: Camden Fuller

R. K. Redding Construction Endowed Scholarship: Colby Adams 

R. N. Hoar Memorial Annual Scholarship: Jasper Bowdoin

Robins & Morton Corporation Annual Scholarship: Richard King 

Sigma Lambda Chi Annual Scholarship: Thomas Yawn

Steve Williams Endowed Scholarship: Sarah Hoffman

Stone Family Foundation Endowed Scholarship: Jason McCay, Martin Moore 

Timothy Self Endowed Scholarship: Tori Thompson

Walton Stone Endowed Scholarship: Jackson Fite

Wesley Scott Bilbo Endowed Scholarship: Jack Bjork 

William A. Hunt Endowed Scholarship: Erin Allee, Clayton Carter 

William P. Caddell Endowed Scholarship: Thomas Rush

The Sigma Lambda Chi Ethics Awards were presented by Keith Rahn, assistant professor and faculty advisor to SLX, and Mitchell Smith, SLX president to:

PC 3: Allen Conradi 

Thesis: Kyle Keaton 

Co-Op: Blake Orum

Ben Farrow, William A. Hunt Endowed Professor and undergraduate program chair, presented the McWhorter Book Awards to:

Julia Allen, freshman

Matt Youngblood, sophomore

Logan Myrick, junior

Clayton Carter, senior

He presented the Outstanding Senior award to Tucker Helms.

The Outstanding Graduate Student Awards were presented by Salman Azhar, J.E. Wilborn Endowed Professor and Graduate Program Chair to:

Alex Getz, Outstanding Graduate Student

David Gerland, Outstanding Distance Graduate