Farrow Named Aderholdt Professor

Ben Farrow, associate professor in the McWhorter School of Building Science, has been awarded the Aderholdt Professorship, a rotating honor named for the late building science professor Bob Aderholdt.

Aderholdt was a dedicated and much-loved building science classroom teacher and a revered researcher who passed away in 2007. The professorship was endowed that same year through $300,000 in contributions and commitments from more than 550 individuals and companies.

The professorship is awarded to an instructor in the school who exhibits the high standard of character and teaching excellence epitomized by Aderholdt during his 27 years of service to Auburn University. It was established to support superior building science faculty who ?demonstrate a strong commitment to students and show a history of high teaching success while also successful in research and service.?

As Aderholdt Professor, Farrow?s role is to strengthen and enhance the program of building construction and, through the quality of his work, serve as a positive role model for students.

Since joining the Auburn building science faculty in 2006, Farrow has proven just how qualified he is for this honor. He teaches Structures classes and a diverse number of upper-level and graduate courses; has developed courses for the Design-Build Master?s program and the Master of Real Estate Development program; and he teaches a class for the school?s distance learning program for the Army Corp of Engineers.

In addition to his teaching responsibilities, Farrow also coaches Auburn?s ASC Heavy Civil team and sponsors the school?s construction honor society, Sigma Lambda Chi. His research focuses on innovation within the construction industry, including working on new product development and improved processes that improve construction productivity, safety and overall quality of work.

?Bob personified building science?s commitment to students and to industry,? says Farrow. I am humbled and honored to receive this award.?

Related people:
C. Ben Farrow