Building Science Holds Annual Awards Banquet

The McWhorter School of Building Science held its annual Awards Banquet on Thursday, April18, at the Marriott Grand National in Opelika, Alabama.

Congratulations to all the award winners!

Lifetime Achievement Award: Robin Savage

Unanimously selected by the Building Science faculty for this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award, 1982 Building Science graduate Robin Savage was that year’s “Outstanding Senior.” Thirty years later, Savage is now Robins & Morton’s Chief Operating Officer. He has also been a long-time generous supporter of the McWhorter School of Building Science with his time and gifts. He has served on numerous committees and has helped guide the McWhorter School of Building Science through name changes, capital campaigns, new buildings, and both good and bad economies. He currently is on the Auburn Building Science Industry Advisory Council.

Faculty Excellence Teaching Awards:

Junshan Liu for his “outstanding dedication for leading the process to integrate the use of electronic portfolios into the building science professional program”

Anoop Sattineni for “outstanding dedication for his continued commitment to providing international learning opportunities through his leadership of two study abroad programs in 2012”

Scott  W. Kramer for “outstanding dedication to provide international learning opportunities for building science students and his continued strong commitment to the study abroad and international co-op programs in construction education”

J. Mark Taylor for “outstanding dedication for establishing the first international student exchange program with Birmingham City University in England”

Aderholdt Professorship: Ben Farrow

The Aderholdt Professorship supports superior Building Science faculty who “demonstrate a strong commitment to students and show a history of high teaching success while also successful in research and service.” The role of the Aderholdt Professor is “to strengthen and enhance the program of building construction and through the quality of his work, will serve as a positive role model for students.”
Sigma Lambda Chi Ethics Award: Kyle Scott

Kyle Scott was selected by his peers as “the student who exemplifies strong ethical principles both in and out of the classroom and the student who represents the McWhorter School of Building Science in a positive manner.”

Outstanding Seniors:

John “Alex”  Gandy

Kathryn Crowley

In recognition of their “outstanding contributions, service, and leadership to the school and among students in Building Science”

Outstanding Graduate Students:

Rebecca Burslem for her “outstanding contribution, service, and leadership to the school and among Master of Building Construction graduate students”

Mackenzie Searle for her “outstanding contribution, service, and leadership to the school and among the USACE graduate students”

Scholarships and Book Award Recipients:

Atlanta Alumni Annual Scholarship

Joshua Whittle

Phillip Pike

B. L. Harbert International Annual Scholarship

Noble Pettus

Bailey-Harris Endowed Presidential Scholarship

Kelley O’Reilly

Batson-Cook Annual Scholarship

Andrew Brown

Bell Development Annual Scholarship

Adam Maples

Michaela Tanksley

Garrett Smith

Jonathan Green

Morgan Taylor

Ben Craig Endowed Scholarship

Victoria Hefner

Bob Crumpton ‘49 Annual Scholarship

Thomas Clausen

Brasfield & Gorrie LLC Annual Scholarship

Timothy Murphy

Brock Family Endowment

Andrew Carroll

Building Science Annual Scholarship

Eugene Buckley

Timothy Busby

Book Award – Freshman

Richard Stark

Book Award – Sophomore

Emily Graves

Book Award – Junior

Andrew Carroll

Book Award – Senior

Erin Walker

CADC/BSCI Minority Scholarship

Joseph Henderson

Comer Foundation Scholarship

Kennedy May

Gary Dent Endowed Scholarship

Blake Sayers

Samuel Register

Gerdau Ameristeel Annual Scholarship

Jacob Gattis

John Eidson

Gray Construction Annual Scholarship

James Barnes

Holder Construction Annual Scholarship

Hunter Himes

Hosey Construction Annual Scholarship

Brandon Hill

Imogene Powell/NAWIC Annual Scholarship

Chelsey Jacobs

James R. Dugan Endowed Scholarship

Emily Graves

John & Emiliy Straussberger Endowed Scholarship

Bryan Forbus

Kay Family Endowed Scholarship

Calan Hollingsworth

KBR (BE&K) Endowed Scholarship

Russell Byrd

Linbeck Construction Annual Scholarship

Lucile Hutchinson

Luke Moser

M. J. Harris Construction Services Annual Scholarship

Benjamin DeLee

Marshall J. Conner Endowed Scholarship

Michael Orum

Martin & Cobey Endowed Scholarship

Ryan Baez

Erin Walker

Montgomery CSI Endowed Scholarship

Casey Cole

Paul Brandt Annual Scholarship

Lucas Ward

See more in: