Building Science Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

Building Science Hosts Annual Awards Banquet

May 20th, 2019

On Thursday, April 18, the McWhorter School of Building Science held its annual awards banquet to honor outstanding faculty and students. School head Dr. Richard Burt presented nine teaching awards recognizing excellence in leadership, teaching, and service to BSCI faculty, including Lauren Redden, Alan Bugg, Salman Azhar, Roger Rice, Mike Hosey, Eric Wetzel, Les Carter, Wes Collins, and Tom Leathem.  


The school also presented students with numerous scholarships and several awards throughout the night. This year, BSCI celebrated a record-breaking number of sponsorships from industry partners and donors and awarded students over $180,000 across 82 scholarships. Among the scholarships was the inaugural Hunter Alan Chambliss Memorial Endowed Scholarship, started by the family of Hunter Alan Chambliss in honor of their son. The school also presented four book awards to top undergraduates in each class, two Sigma Lambda Chi ethics awards, one outstanding senior award, and an outstanding graduate student award.  


Speaking at the event, professor Scott Kramer emphasized the school’s commitment to service learning and highlighted several of BSCI’s outstanding service learning projects. Professor Kramer also recognized the recent addition of a service learning requirement to all BSCI programs, which reflects the school’s mission of fostering civic engagement and leadership alongside academic excellence.   


The school also congratulated its competition teams on their continued success, including the ASC teams, ACI team, DBIA team, Roofing Alliance Construction Management team, ABC team, CIOB Global Challenge team, and MCAA team. In addition to their record of exceptional performance, Auburn’s BSCI competition teams are among only a handful of US teams that compete in some competitions. 


View the 2019 Awards Banquet program here.